It’s Never Too Early to Start an Author Platform…or Is It?


fb author pageJust today I made a Facebook author page. I have pushed my low self-esteem aside and started me one. I think it’ll be easier to share snippets of my work and announcements on my wattpad projects.

I used to feel that it would be a prideful thing (for me to do) if I started one. I don’t know, I never saw others that has author pages as being prideful, but sharing their art in an easier fashion in one place. But I always felt that it would be a prideful thing for me to do…I don’t know why though. And also, I always thought none of my work was worth such thing.

I’ve changed my mind…slowly.

So I’m basically starting an author platform before I even start querying my book. (*chills* I can’t bear the thought of querying right now.) If I gain a somewhat support beforehand, maybe rejection letter won’t sting as much. Also, if I ever decided to self-publish my work at one point, I have some interested readers.

I’m also going to start building book trailers. Not the kind that uses movie clips, I’m going to do it from scratch. Like film clips and drawings. I’m handy with videography you know. 🙂

So what’s your thoughts on building an author platform? Should one do it early, or when a piece of work is going into publishing?

One thought on “It’s Never Too Early to Start an Author Platform…or Is It?

Leave a Reply

